Q:

I am looking into homeopathic solutions and I came across several halachic concerns, such as kishuf (forbidden witchcraft), gevinas akum, stam yayin, and other kosher-sensitive ingredients. I was wondering whether the cRc had more information and maybe even an official position on these “medications”.

A:


You are correct that the active and inactive ingredients used in homeopathic remedies may be non-kosher, and you should definitely consult with your local Rabbi before consuming any of these items. He will consider the ingredients in the given product and other factors in deciding whether it is appropriate for you.


Open in new window