Q:

 

 Does Pas Yisroel apply to gluten-free cookies, cakes, and crackers?

A:


 



The very first halacha regarding pas Yisroel (Shulchan Aruch YD 112:1) is that it is only required for foods made from the five primary grains – wheat, barley, spelt, rye, or oats.  Accordingly, most gluten-free food does not require pas Yisroel because the very nature of gluten-free food is that never contains wheat, barley, spelt, or rye.  The only exception would be foods made with special gluten-free oats – such as gluten-free oat matzah for Pesach; those foods contain one of the five primary grains, and therefore potentially require pas Yisroel if they meet all of the other criteria.



 


Open in new window